Find your train…

Going: Today Leaving 6:00
Return: Today Leaving 8:00
More journey options


Under 5s travel free

Via or avoid

Is there a particular station you want to avoid or travel via?


Railcards must be carried on the journey with your tickets

Add Railcard
Adults 1, Children 0
Via or avoid:
All services
Promotional code:

You have chosen a flexible search. You can add your travel preferences as part of the booking process.

SMS feedback

Tell us what you think from on-board your train

If you have feedback for CrossCountry when you are on the move, why not try our SMS feedback service?

How it works

  • Text XC followed by a short message, with maximum 160 characters, to 88008.
  • All feedback will be monitored by the CrossCountry team and we will be publishing our response to a range of comments on this page.
  • SMS feedback messages will be charged at normal network rates.
  • Don't forget, if you have a particular enquiry that needs a personal reply, use the Contact Us page.

SMS feedback messages will be charged at normal network rates.

Latest feedback:

XC got on the manchester Piccadilly train instead of leeds this morning 30/9 conductor was brilliant very empathetic signed my ticket and gave me onward pass to Leeds really appreciated all his help . Didn't take his name but would like to personally thank him

Thanks for getting in touch, glad to hear our Train Manager was able to assist you after boarding the incorrect train.
Date Added: 30/09/2015 21:03:39

XC Just been asked to get off 1.57 train and wait half an hour for next train as bought an iPhone ticket that is completely in flexible. Asked train driver Peter if could be flexible as would like to get home early to kids. Reply was no as I could be a mystery shopper. Great response! Rubbish customer service!!! Makes standing up on your trains week in week out all the more enjoyable.

Thanks for contacting us. There are many different types of tickets available both flexible & train specific. It sounds like your ticket was advance which is train specific. These are the tickets available on your phone. Should you require flexible tickets, off-peak or anytime tickets are the best option for purchase. Apologies for the inconvenience caused on your journey home. Should you wish to make further comments, please get in touch with our CR team on 0344 736 9123.
Date Added: 29/09/2015 14:28:49

XC 07:06 Derby to Bournemouth. I travel on this Service most week days and beyond Burton there are often no seats. This morning one of the four carriages is out of bounds. It's going to be miserable for anyone boarding at Burton or Tamworth. XC please put on an extra coach for services like this.

Thanks for getting in touch. Yesterday's closure of coach D was due to an external door fault. Without cancelling the service entirely, the decision was taken to lock the coach out of use for safety purposes. Unfortunately with the fleet we have, we cannot provide extra carriages on busy services as all trains and carriages we have available within our franchise are in operation on a daily basis. Please accept our apologies.
Date Added: 29/09/2015 08:19:38

XC Thanks to the lovely manager on 8.07 Man to New St train this morning, I was on a split ticket and he was so helpful - he was still being cheery on the return 15.57!

Thank you for contacting us. These are great comments. We'll be sure to pass them onto the Train Manager and his management.
Date Added: 24/09/2015 20:49:58

XC I travel everyday on the 07.18 service between Sheffield and Derby. I'd like to pass on some kind comments about the train manager who has been on this service yesterday 23.09.15 and today 24.09.15. He has been so cheerful, even this early in the morning, and is very helpful with passengers, informing them where they need to change and what platform they should find. He is also honest when he's not sure about something. Thank you train manager!

Thanks for getting in touch. These are great comments to hear. We'll be sure to pass them on to the Train Manager and his seniors.
Date Added: 24/09/2015 07:51:50

XC On the 18:53 Reading train today, I got on at Derby and the lovely ticket collector (whose name I didn't manage to get) could see I was being bothered by a rather tipsy passenger and helped me with my luggage into a different carriage and made sure I was okay, I truly appreciate it. Thank you.

Thanks for getting in touch. We're glad to hear that our Train Manager was happy to help you in this scenario. We will pass on your thanks.
Date Added: 22/09/2015 20:10:06

Xc Bham to leeds 10.03 nice cleen comfortable journey but carriage numbers need to be clearly marked by doors on outside in big numbers.

Hello. Thanks for getting in touch with us. Our Voyager trains have LED screens which display the appropriate coach letter. At times where they're not working, we do aim to stick printed letters on our doors to highlight which coach it is however this is not always the case. We appreciate your feedback however and we will most certainly pass this on to the relevant teams.
Date Added: 20/09/2015 21:02:05

XC bought tickets to Cardiff 3 weeks ago at Manchester pic and was told i couldn't get reservation because of the world cup. But there is only one unreserved coach. Other people got reservation just 3 days ago. How is that possible?

Thanks for contacting us. On World Cup match days, we are not offering any reservations to Cardiff on any of our trains. On the few Manchester - Cardiff services that we will run on match days (we only run 1 a day on non match days), reservations will only go as far as Cheltenham/Gloucester with no reservations available beyond those stations.
Date Added: 19/09/2015 08:43:50

XC 20:11 train from Oxford to Leamington Spa, train guard 'Mac' handled a difficult customer very well - want to ensure Mac is not blamed if the rude man complains as he was just doing his job, handled situation politely and professionally!

Hello. Thanks for your kind feedback. We're glad to hear that he handled the situation politely and professionally. We'll make sure that we pass your kind comments on to him.
Date Added: 18/09/2015 23:58:20

XC What is the point in TMR when I get on and seat reservations aren't showing? Busy train and now standing on a long journey, again.

Hello. Thanks for your text received on 17/09/2015. We're sorry for the inconvenience caused by the failure of our 10 minute reservation service. This service is very popular and does download onto our services on almost all occasions however on rare occasions the information can fail to get through to the train in time meaning we cannot display the reservation correctly. We hope you continue to use the service in the future.
Date Added: 17/09/2015 16:53:26

XC fantastic customer service from Natalie on the 17.27 from Picc to Bir. She is a star and a credit to CrossCountry.

Thank you for your text received on 16/09/2015. We're glad to hear that you've received fantastic customer service. We'll be sure to pass this on to her and her seniors. We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon.
Date Added: 16/09/2015 18:03:35

XC disgusted, train from gloucester arrived late, missed connection, now had to purchase new ticket for my onward travel to leamington spa.

Sorry to hear of the problems you experienced this morning due to a delay on our train, in the event a connection is missed due to a train delay your ticket will then be valid on the next suitable connection. We’d recommend raising your experience with our Customer Relations team who will be able to investigate, contact details are available here:
Date Added: 16/09/2015 09:21:46

XC staff in 1st class on the 1645 rdg to bhm were very good!! They made the journey fly by!!

Great to hear! We'll be sure to pass your comments on to the staff members in question.
Date Added: 15/09/2015 18:35:44

XC no refreshments on train 16.37 from DBY to NWP nearly 3hrs. Seriously have you not got room to sell bottled water? Glad rest of my journey was on fgw

Sorry you’re unhappy with the lack of catering on our 16:37 service from Derby to Newport, we do have services that run with a catering trolley on that route however this would not apply to all of our trains, the 16:37 service in particular is one train not scheduled to have catering on board.
Date Added: 09/09/2015 23:42:23

XC Paid £160 return from Tiverton to Birmingham and have never been on a train with so little leg room, a complete lack of concern for the comfort of your customers , this is not value for money a complete rip off

Sorry you found the legroom insufficient when you travelled with us recently. We are using what space we have on our trains effectively as possible, ultimately we have to strike a balance between providing adequate space for passengers and also providing a suitable amount of seats as well, we have however logged your comments for the attention of our Fleet team.
Date Added: 08/09/2015 08:45:06

XC I've been on board the 10:10am cross country to Cardiff Central, I got off at Birmingham New Street. The driver/ person that speaks was very friendly and funny. Great service!

Glad to hear our Senior Conductor helped make the journey an enjoyable one, we'll be sure to pass your comments on.
Date Added: 04/09/2015 11:23:58

XC why send a seat reservation when I board the train it states available?extremely busy with booked seat and still standing. Very poor service as usual!!

Sorry to hear your reserved seat was showing as available, without knowing the train you were on we wouldn't be able to confirm the reason as to why this was however it may have been the case the reservations failed to download in your coach. In the event you have to stand despite holding a reservation compensation would be due, please email a screenshot of your reservation to with contact details so that this can processed.
Date Added: 03/09/2015 17:31:01

XC Please give me highest compliments to David- Service Manager that helped me personally with directions 7.50 DRL-BHM 27.08.15

That's great to hear about our member of staff David, we'll be sure to pass this on to him and his manager.
Date Added: 28/08/2015 16:07:09

XC I'm on the 10:59 from Doncaster and I'm appalled by how packed and over crowded this train is and how rude and unhelpful the staff have been.

Sorry to hear of the crowding on board your train today, Fridays can be one of our busiest times and we are using all the coaches we have available across our network. If you wish to raise a complaint about a member of our staff please email with full details and they will be able to look into this.
Date Added: 28/08/2015 12:12:51

XC I'm on the 08:07 from Manchester on my way to Birmingham for a meeting. Having lived and worked overseas I'm often disappointed with comparatively miserable customer service in the UK. The team on this train though are excellent - professional but friendly and all doing their jobs very well. Good customer service should be recognised and encouraged, as often people only comment when service is poor, so that's why I'm texting now, keep it up!

Thank you for letting us know about our staff on board the 08:07 service from Manchester Piccadilly to Birmingham New St, we're always thrilled to hear comments such as yours and will ensure they are passed on to the staff members concerned.
Date Added: 26/08/2015 09:04:30

Your favourite journeys

Register with us and save your journey as a favourite when booking.

Sign in and your favourites will be shown here.

Train Tickets app by CrossCountry

Check real-time running information, get prices, and buy
tickets for the whole National Rail network.